Martin “Jug” Jugum was a longtime activist and key member of the International Longshore and Warehouse Union for over fifty years. A prominent leader of Seattle's ILWU Local 19, he was essential in creating the Harry Bridges Center for Labor Studies and was a co-chair for the Harry Bridges Memorial Committee. The Martin and Anne Jugum Scholarship in Labor Studies was created in 1997 to honor him and his wife and their dedication to the labor movement. The award provides $5,500 in financial support to outstanding undergraduates at the University of Washington who demonstrate a commitment to labor research or practice.


Deadline to Apply for 2021-2022 Academic Year

Monday, April 19, 2021


Who Should Apply

The scholarship is awarded yearly to undergraduate graduate students at any of the University of Washington's three campuses (Seattle, Tacoma, or Bothell). In their applications, students must show commitment to the principles of justice, equality, and diversity. Students with an interest in labor studies or a family background in labor and social justice are encouraged to apply. Scholarship winners must demonstrate high academic achievement and be enrolled for Autumn Quarter of the upcoming academic year.

If you have applied to the University of Washington but have not yet received notice from the Admissions Office, you are eligible for the scholarship. However, the award will be contingent on your admittance to the UW.


How to Apply

To apply, a student should prepare the following materials:

  1. Essay responses. Please prepare written answers to the following questions. We recommend compiling answers into a separate document before entering them into the on-line application. This will ensure your responses are saved on multiple platforms, as answers entered in the on-line application are not saved until they are submitted.

    • Tell us about any social justice, labor, or diversity issues that have impacted you personally. How have you worked to address these issues? Please limit your response to 400 words or less.

    • Describe aspects of your background/identity that exemplify your commitment to social justice, labor, and diversity (Your response may draw upon your answer to the question above). Discuss any personal obstacles or disadvantages you have encountered. If relevant, highlight issues related to waterfront industries or organized labor. Please limit your response to 400 words or less.

    • How will funding from the Harry Bridges Center for Labor Studies support the goals you have for your education at the University of Washington? How do you plan to engage with the labor movement during your studies here? How will funding prepare you for what you want to accomplish upon completion of your degree? Again, if relevant, highlight issues relevant to waterfront industries or organized labor. Please limit your response to 400 words or less.

  2. A brief letter of support from a teacher or community member.

  3. A highschool or college transcript (which ever is most recent). Unofficial transcripts are acceptable.

  4. Up to date contact information, including e-mail, mailing addresses, and phone number.

  5. Optional: Additional documents demonstrating your commitment to labor or Labor Studies, such as a resume or curriculum vitae, may also be submitted.


How to Submit Your Application

The online application for all Labor Studies scholarships and fellowships for the 2021-2022 academic year opens in Winter Quarter. A link to the on-line application portal will be posted on the Harry Bridges Center for Labor Studies website. By submitting the on-line application, you will be considered for all Labor Studies awards you qualify for. Applications are due April 19, 2021.

Questions about the application or scholarship terms? Call (206) 543-7946 or e-mail


Previous Scholarship Recipients

1997: Ligaya Domingo

1998: Jessica Roach

1999: Garland Berrian & Eric Stowe

2000: Kristina Anderson & Miguel Bocanegra

2001: Noah Purcell, Rudy Mendoza & Natalie Kimball

2002: Heather Anderson & Elizabeth Zamora

2003: Akson Mounlamai & Adam Goodwin

2004: Nowell Bamberger & Natalie Quist

2005: Rachel Taber

2006: Michael Schulze-Oechtering Castañeda & Morgen Myrdal

2007: Joseph Guanlao, George Robertson & Aaron Verzosa

2008: April Nishimura & Lila Zucker

2009: Laura O'Neil & Matt Reed

2010: Peter Gallagher & Garrett Strain

2011: Blake Barnett & Christine Woodward

2012: Leo Baunach & Morgan Currier

2013: Cesar Garcia & Jacqueline Wu

2014: Lena Easton-Calabria & Rebecca Flores

2015: Ari Hermida, Joe Stormer & Emilie Woodd

2016: Diana Betancourt, Ari Hermida & Gordon Shelton-Jenck

2017: Hannah Dolling & Iris Wagner

2018: Jenesis Garcia & Marcos Vieyra

2019: Rhiannon Rasaretnam, Clara Raftery, Jasmine Fernandez & Oloth Insyxiengmay

2020: Tianna Andresen, Guadalupe Gonzalez & Phuong Phan